RCSO Banner

Menu:


Links:

- NC DOC
- NC DOJ
- NC SBI
- Asheboro PD
- Archdale PD
- Liberty PD
- Randleman PD
- Ramseur PD

- Handgun Permits

Concealed
 Carry Information


For Concealed Carry Permits our hours are 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Please call and schedule a time to complete the permitting process. We break for lunch from 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM. We will then be processing permits up until 4:00 PM.

Because of changes in the law that took effect December 1, 2015, there is up to a fourteen (14) Day waiting period for firearm purchase permits. This includes extra paperwork and data entry that also has to be completed by the clerk’s office and the mental health system.

We apologize for any inconveniences this may cause, but the surge in permit request has left us no alternative. We thank you for patience and understanding.

Please see below for the permit applications. You may fill the application out, but please do not sign and date the application until you come in for your appointment.

 

Please remember to bring your driver’s license, and proof of residence (Power Bill, Automobile Registration, Phone Bill).

 
Schedule a time to apply:

Call 336-318-6677 or 336-318-6727 between 8:30AM – 5:00PM, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays

 


  • Must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Must apply in person.
  • Provide  a valid N.C. State Identification Card or N.C. Driver's License reflecting correct address - and proof of residency in N.C. and Randolph County for 30 days.
  • Must be able to complete application process.
  • If you are an immigrant, you must bring your permanent resident card.
  • Must show proof of Military Discharge

 

Concealed Carry Permit Application Requirements  

NOTE: On August 11th, 2004, the Governor signed into law that citizens with a CCW (Concealed Carry Weapons Permit) can purchase handguns through dealers, using their CCW. It is no longer necessary for these citizens, who have already been approved to carry a concealed weapon and have been fingerprinted, to come to the Sheriff's Office to obtain a Handgun Purchase Permit. 

Concealed Carry Weapon Application Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Provide  a valid N.C. State Identification Card or N.C. Driver's License reflecting correct address - and proof of residency in N.C. and Randolph County for 30 days.
  • Original Certificate of N.C. approved firearms safety course.
  • Naturalized citizens must bring original certificated of citizenship.
  • Must show proof of Military Discharge
  • Schedule an appointment - call 336-318-6677 or 336-318-6727 between 8:30AM – 5:00PM, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.

For disqualifiers see N.C. Firearms Laws under Federal Gun Control Act of 1968 Title 18 U.S.C. Sections 921 and 922 and Title 27 - Code of Federal Regulations.

See NC Firearm Laws at the North Carolina Department of Justice website

The Sheriff may require, if necessary, any documentation required to complete either of these application processes.



Application for Concealed Handgun Permit

DO NOT SIGN APPLICATION

APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED IN PRESENCE OF OFFICER

ALL PRINTED FORMS MUST BE IN BLACK INK ONLY

Application for Concealed Handgun Permit



North Carolina Concealed Handgun Chart – Prohibited Carry Areas