The Commission serves as Randolph County's official body to identify, preserve, and protect Randolph County's historic landmarks, and to educate the public about those resources as well as historic preservation in general.

  • Natural heritage and related historical landmarks are some of Randolph County's most valued and important assets
  • the conservation and preservation of historical landmarks can enhance the quality of life for residents and can foster economic development by helping to sustain heritage tourism resources
horizontal line divider
Facebook Link

List of Approved Landmarks

Procedures &  Forms


horizontal line divider

Commission Members

County Planning DirectorHal Johnson Chair 
Commissioner District 1Nan Kemp 
Commissioner District 2Fran Andrews Vice-Chair 
Commissioner District 3Warren Dixon 
Commissioner District 4Marsha Haithcock  
Commissioner District 5Lynne Qualls 
At-large MembersBill Johnson 
 Mac Whatley 
 Bill Ivey 
Alternate MemberRobyn Hankins 
horizontal line divider

Contact Information

The Randolph County Planning Department provides staff support and coordination for the Historic Landmark Preservation Commission. The County Planning Department is located in the Central Permitting Building at 204 E. Academy Street, Asheboro, N.C.; Get Map

Telephone: Asheboro- 336-318-6555, Liberty- 336-218-4555, or Archdale/Trinity- 336-819-3555.

The Deputy Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners also serves as Clerk to the Historic Landmark Preservation Commission. She can be reached at 336-318-6300.